Friday, March 23, 2018


Saturday 23 June – Sunday 1 July
Palia Ilektriki Paphos

The thirteenth edition of the Cyprus International Film Festival “Golden Aphrodite” is going to be held in Paphos 23/6-1/7/18 with film screenings and parallel activities in the Cultural Centre Old Ilektriki  in Pafos with FREE entrance. The Cyprus International Film Festival “Golden Aphrodite” is  held Under the Auspices of the Municipality of Pafos and it is supported by the Cyprus Tourism Organization and the foreign embassies in Cyprus. The Cyprus International Film Festival (CYIFF) takes place annually, under the umbrella of Cultural International Festivals network and its goal is to be the best European Film Festival for first shown filmmakers. The festival is a non profit organization and it was inaugurated on March 23, 2006 by the Cypriot Minister of Education and Culture Mr Pefkios Georgiades. Since then, we have proved that we are consistent professionals organizing this event annually and promoting Cyprus as the ideal cinematic tourist destination.

The festival is dedicated exclusively to the emerging independent filmmakers who are going to present the screening of their film in front of a VIP Jury consisted by international cinema celebrities. With the competition section of first feature films in the category "Golden Aphrodite" and first short films in the category “CYIFF Got Talent", the festival's motto is the following: “The Best of the First!”.  The festival includes also the following categories:
"Women films" are eligible for the Aphrodite Cinematic Award (female director and/or producer)
50/50” film with equality of men and women in film credits
Peace” - Tribute with films and other activities
Feature films by experienced film directors are eligible for the "CYPress Veteran's Award"
Animation films
Documentary films    

Parallel Events: a) Group Photo Exhibition “Myths and Legends” with Cypriot and foreign photographers. b) Theatrical monologue for Gregory Afxentiou based on the poetic work of Yiannis Ritsos “Farewell”, as part of the Festival's tribute to  “Peace”.

VIP Jury: The VIP Jury for the feature films in Golden Aphrodite and Veteran categories includes Bill Butler-Director of photography (Jaws by Steven Spielberg (1975), Rocky II (1979), Rocky III (1983), Rocky IV (1985), Grease (1978 etc), Vivek Singhania-producer, Anthony Skordi- actor, Wang Jingguang- film director and George F Roberson - producer, writer.

Among other cinephiles, Olyna Xenopoulou-actress, Maria Palmer-film critic, Myria Hoplarou-actress, Bejay Browne-film director, journalist  will select the best of documentaries, experimental, short films and animation in the various categories of the festival. Cinephiles from Paphos  are invited to join the independent jury committee.
Volunteers are welcomed to join our enthusiastic festival team. Info:

The organisers wish to express their gratitude for the support from volunteers, jurors, sponsors, supporters and partners: Cyprus Tourism Organisation, Municipality of Pafos, Neapolis University in Pafos, Cultural International Festivals Inc, Papyrus Trinity Star, Suite 48,  as well as the media sponsors and the  Cine@Art Magazine.

See our FB page for updates.

“Golden Aphrodite”
Since 2006, as part of the festival, there have been significant parallel cultural and educational events:
Poster Exhibition of films of Krzyzstof Kieslowski on loan from Lotz Film Museum in Poland Russian Cultural Center (CYIFF 2008)
Photographic Exhibition “Byzantine castles of Greece”, by Angelos & Vangelis Rassias, in transfer from the Benaki Museum in Greece, in Kastelliotissa (CYIFF 2006).
Workshop “Special Effects” with Alahouzos Brothers in Hotel Amathus (CYIFF 2006).
Workshop “Make up for the Cinema” with Alahouzos Brothers at Hotel Amathus (CYIFF 2006).
Overview of the history of Greek Animation in cooperation with the Hellenic Audiovisual Institute, (CYIFF 2007).
Tribute to Russian Cinema in collaboration with Cine Fantom Club, the oldest film club in Moscow, in Russian Cultural Centre (CYIFF 2008).
Tribute to contemporary Polish cinema in cooperation with the Polish Film Institute (CYIFF 2010).
Seminar «3D Animation» with Giotis Katsambas in the Russian Cultural Center (CYIFF 2008)
Seminar “Getting started in writing screenplays” with Dr Andrew Horton, Director of Film Studies at the University of Oklahoma, U.S.A., and award-winning screenwriter (“The Dark Side of the Sun” with Brad Pitt) in Hotel Amathus (CYIFF 2006)
Seminar / Workshop “Actor in front of the camera” with the award-winning actor and director Thanasi Sarantos, which produced a short film (CYIFF 2010)
Seminar Masterclass with award winning Director of Photography Olympia Mytilineou (“Strella”, “Miss Violence” – CYIFF 2013)
“CYIFF-Hollywood Scriptwriting Workshop” with the acclaimed  U.S. writer and producer Mitchell Peck (CYIFF 2014)
Photo Exhibition “Human Relationships” (CYIFF 2017)
Masterclass with the acclaimend actor Anthony Skordi (CYIFF 2017)
“Pegasos Cinema Lab” produces a short film during the festival to be screened at the Awards ceremony

“Golden Aphrodite”
They have served as members of the jury in 2006, several prominent artists and filmmakers such as the following:
Papamichael Phaedon, production designer on films of John Cassavetes and Artistic Director of the festival since 2007
Papamichael Phaedon Jr, award-winning cinematographer, (L.A., USA) and advisor to the festival
Dr Andrew Horton, Director of Film Studies at the University of Oklahoma, U.S.A.
Stuart Alson, director of the New York Film & Video Festival (L.A., USA)
Directors: Chris Eyre (“Sundance”, USA), Nick Koundouros, Alice Danezi-Knutsen, Archimedes Dennis Zervos (L.A., USA), Tony Srour, Nicolas Demetriou, Socrates Lambropoulos, Michael Georgiades, Christos Georgiou, Oliver Kyr (Germany), Hu Xiuyang (China)
Kakkavas Alexander, President of Scriptwriters, Greece
Stars: Q-Orianka Kilscher (“Pocahontas – New World”) (L.A., USA), Anna-Maria Marinca, Sofia Shinas (L.A., USA), Costas Demetriou, Helen Petropoulos, Alexandra Pavlides, Chloe Liaskou, Anna Synodinou, Anthony Skordi (L.A., USA)
Film Producers: Gregory Cascante (L.A.,USA), Georges Stephanopoulos (N.Y., USA), Vassos Giorgas (Greece), Vivek Singhania (India), George F. Roberson (USA), Mitchell Peck (USA)
Music Composers: Costas Cacoyannis, Dimitris Katis, Maro Theodorakis, Stavros Sideras
Alexandros Romanos Lizardos, film critic (ERT / Nerit)
Olympia Mytilineou, Director of Photography (Strella, Miss Violence)
Bill Butler, Director of Photography (Jaws, Rocky II,III, IV, Godfather etc)